skip navigation
Home News Team Info Schedule Recruiting Photos Contacts


to the online home of Cal Poly Lacrosse


Cal Poly Lacrosse

Season Opening Meeting - Wednesday, September 24th

All players interested in joining the Cal Poly Lacrosse team for the 2014-2015 season must attend the season opening meeting on campus Wednesday, September 24th. Both returning players and new players are expected to attend. Please arrive on time and bring a pen or pencil.  

Wednesday, September 24, 2014
8 p.m.
Building 8, Room 123

Cal Poly Lacrosse Earns 5th WCLL Title

Coach Lea hands off the WCLL Championship Trophy to the Mustang squad

May 4, 2014 (Novato, CA)  - Senior midfielder Tim Albo drove through the middle of the Cal defense and rifled in the Mustangs first goal less than a minute into the WCLL title game on Sunday. It was a sign of things to come, as the Mustangs dominated the Bears from start to finish for a 16 - 5 victory, earning their 5th WCLL championship in the last six years. 

Cal Poly was clicking on all cylinders as they raced out to a 5 - 1 first quarter lead, and an 11 - 2 lead at the halftime break. Offensively, the Mustangs were led by the attack duo of Dylan Gonsalves (6g) and Joseph Sarjeant (3g, 3a). In all, eleven different Mustangs tallied points in the title matchup. The defense had another strong outing, limiting the Bears to only five goals, and holding their high-scoring attack duo of Sean Hayden (1g) and Nick Sheehan to a single point combined. 

Senior attackman Gonsalves also scored 2 goals and 2 assists against Stanford in the semi-final on Saturday, giving him 8 goals and 2 assists for the championship weekend. For his stellar performance in both games, Gonsalves was named the WCLL Tournament MVP. 

With the title victory, the Mustangs earned the league's automatic qualifier for the MCLA National Championship tournament being held in Orange County from May 12 - 17. Cal Poly has been named the #11 seed and will take on regional rival UCSB in the first round on Monday. The Gauchos come in as the #6 seed and earned an at-large berth out of the Southwest Lacrosse Conference. 

MCLA National Championship Tournament

First Round Matchup
#11 Cal Poly vs #6 UCSB

Monday, May 12th, 2014 at 4:30 p.m.
Location: UC Irvine


If you cannot attend in person, watch the Mustangs live online on the MCLA website!

2014 WCLL All-Conference Awards

WCLL 1st Team All-Conference midfielder Matt Dobbs

WCLL 1st Team All-Conference midfielder Matt Dobbs

Cal Poly landed eight players on the 2014 WCLL All-Conference team, all of them on either the 1st or 2nd Team.

Joseph Sarjeant - Attack
Matt Dobbs - Midfield
Chris Nespor - Long-Stick Midfield
Sebastian Zorn - Defense
Sean Pihl - Goaltender

Dylan Gonsalves - Attack
Michael Paul - Midfield 
Luke Willon - Defense

Mustangs' head coach Marc Lea was also named the 2014 WCLL Coach of the Year, receiving the award for the 4th time in his 14-year coaching career.

Congratulations to all of the Mustang All-Conference players!!


2012 WCLL Champions - FOUR IN A ROW!!!


THREEPEAT!!! Cal Poly Mustangs 2011 WCLL Champions


Cal Poly Mustangs 2010 WCLL Champions


Cal Poly Mustangs 2009 WCLL Champions